Annual Meeting

RoomEvery year Habitat for Humanity recognizes those volunteers who gave hundreds of hours of their time in service to our organization. We know that without the many hands that help Habitat, our programs and projects would be very difficult and costly to complete. To all those who have given of their time and talent, we thank you.

On Thursday, January 19, Habitat board members and staff gathered at Christ Lutheran Church to present awards to retiring board members and local volunteers for donating hours of their time to Habitat. Certificates of appreciation from Assemblyman Devon Mathis, Congressman Devin Nunes and the Tulare County Board of Supervisors were also given out. Many business leaders and City officials attended including The Visalia City Mayor Warren Gubler, Visalia City Manager Mike Olmos, Nathan Garza from the Department of Natural Resources, Bob and Jackie Croft from Spirit 88.9, Steve Phillips from the Visalia Police Department, Gary Gostanian from Suncrest Bank, Beth Bruegman from United Staffing, Gary Campbell from Gary Campbell Insurance, Maria Helm from ReMax/AllEstates and Eric Frost from the City of Visalia.

Dirk Holkeboer, Habitat for Humanity Executive Director, recognized five new board members joining the Habitat for Humanity leadership team. Matt Amaro and Josh Fox from Kahn, Soares & Conway in Hanford, John Dutton-retired from the City of Visalia, Michele Figueroa-retired from the Visalia Police Department and Dianis Pimentel from Wells Fargo in Tulare.

The evening also featured two films by Zach Green. One film presented a visual perspective of Habitat’s work here in Tulare/Kings counties, featuring several members of the community, volunteers and homeowners sharing their stories of Habitat’s work and how it has impacted them. The second film captured Zach and Michele Figueroa on their first Habitat for Humanity Global Village Trip to Nicaragua. Both films pay homage to the many hands and dollars it takes to provide decent, affordable housing world wide, and the pressing need Habitat has to continue it’s work. Check out Zach’s Tulare/Kings Counties film.

Volunteer Appreciation Awards:

Retiring Board Members Recognized: Jan Beatty, Tom Hornburg, Matt Spindler, Seth Benevento & Oscar Torres

Individual Awards: Nicole Hastings, Tom Murchie, Federico Viscarra, John Murray, Kevin Gerke, Michele Figueroa, Hunter Enns, Frank Miramontes & Carl Rana

Group Awards: Advanced Micro Systems & Noel Agnew & Morse LLP

For more pictures check out our Annual Meeting Photo Album. CLICK HERE

Join our volunteer teams! Sign up! 

Deanna Saldana (Habitat Staff), Award Recipient Michele Figueroa, Anita Rodriguez (Habitat Staff) and Janie Sustaita from Assemblyman Devon Mathis office.